Planner · Planning Tips

Why I Started Bullet Journaling

Why I Started Bullet Journaling | My Dandelion Dreams

The idea of having a Bullet Journal has been lingering my mind since a long time ago. However, it’s just from last week I started to use it. There are several things that I’d like to have in my planner that haven’t been able to be fulfilled by other planner, including my DIY planner inserts. That’s why I decided to try out using the Bullet Journal system, and have been utilizing it since then.

Here are few things that make me decided to try Bullet Journaling:

It’s so flexible & customizable

Since Bullet Journaling is done in a blank notebook, it means that we are the one who decide what the journal will look like or function as. You can use the system to match your planning needs, whether it is a day-to-day planning, travel journal, health tracker, etc. I, myself, use the Bullet Journal system as my blog and business planner. They may be not as pretty or colorful as those planners that I can find or buy outside, but the inside of these planners are exactly all I need, because it’s me who create the layout.

You can also decide what you want your Bullet Journal to look like. Do you want to use a binder instead of a Moleskin or Leuchtturm? Well, it’s up to you. You can use whatever you want that works best for you. Colored paper, washi tape, stickers, colorful pens, or just simply a notebook and a black pen? The decision is 100% in your hand!  The possibilities are limitless with Bullet Journal 😉

All-in-One Notebook

One of my bad habits when keeping a planner is that I want to put everything in it. I like the idea of having everything in one planner. However, the downside of it is that it makes my planner bulky and heavy. And sometimes it causes me not to bring my planner, and then panic when I need something in it to refer to. (Yes, it’s my bad)

However, using a bullet journal, we can have everything in one place. The idea of “collections” and the fact (again) that BuJo-ing is done in a blank notebook, make it easy to hold all the information you needed without adding more weight to your planner (or journal)

Imperfection

Last but not least, in a Bullet Journal, we are not expected to create the most beautiful layout. Yes, there are many people all over the internet who have pretty and colorful layout, but you can always refer to the original layout that was made by Ryder Carroll, the creator of this system.

See? The simplicity of the system and the fact that we can actually make mistakes in our BuJo is what I really want to embrace. What I like in a BuJo is that I can easily flip out and turn to a new blank page if I made mistakes when creating my spread, or I can use white-out for small fixes. I love that I don’t have the pressure to make pretty layout, or that I should write neatly, etc. Personally, I think that the imperfection is what makes your planner yours.


So there have been my reasons to start using the Bullet Journal system. What about you? What aspects of Bullet Journal that you love the most? What stops you from starting one? Share with me in the comments below!

 

Much love,

Patricia

Leave a Reply

